Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
New user; need some help submitting founds.
Hey guys, first of all thanks for having this community; I love it already and I've been looking for a place like this.

I started practicing with my new cracking rig on the Game-Tuts VBulletin Database of hashes. I have idk, maybe 20 or 50 so far, but just starting cracking.

I have a potfile from Hashcat, in .potfile (can be converted to .txt or pretty much whatever) in the following format:

Code:
74fb67bf1473bbdeb85e458b60ce4df4:d&*:24green
6ebbaf67dcc2790ea362ff05f05dfae1:~c*:21sean
54fa8445863078c137b905fa1cbe7741:J-+:77password

I was going to upload the found, but I had some questions about filling out the form, and already having read https://hashes.org/algorithms.php and https://s3inlc.wordpress.com/2017/11/10/...hashes-org, I figured I'd come here since I still quite didn't get it.

What exactly do I need for fill out for "Algorithm?" The Game-Tuts database is VBulletin, but I'm sure I don't just type that in plaintext by the look of the above websites. If I have to get a string or something to feed the algorithm to Hashes.org, I'm not sure where or how to do so.

Also a bit confused on Hash/Salt/Found Separator. Looking at my above potfile, I'd assume I would submit the following in that field:

::

Since there's two colons to seperate hash and salt, right?

Then I guess, "Found hashes are salted" is simple. I'd check yes in this case, but if my list looked like,

54fa8445863078c137b905fa1cbe7741:77password

...with no salt, I'd not check it.

Thanks for confirming or denying this stuff, and answering these questions anyone / everyone! Happy to be here Smile
You got most of the stuff correctly. A hash is considered salted, as soon as it has a separate part which is the salt, e.g. the vBulletin hashes. On the other case for example a bcrypt hash is not "salted", as the hash is integrated into the hash and therefore no separate field is provided.